Views
3 months ago

Volume 27 Issue 6 | April 15 - May 27, 2022

  • Text
  • Thewholenotecom
  • Violin
  • Theatre
  • Sonata
  • Recording
  • Concerto
  • Symphony
  • Jazz
  • Musical
  • Toronto
  • April
Vol 27 No. 6. Here’s some of it: “Growing up in a house full of riches” – the Kanneh-Masons; “As if the music knows what it is doing” – J.S. Bach; “Better experienced than described” – Women from Space; “Stories set in prehistoric times are notoriously difficult to pull off without invoking nervous laughter” – Orphan Song; “To this day when I look at an audience, there’s some part of me that sees a whole bunch of friendly teddy bears wearing bow-ties” – Boris Brott. …. etc

BLUE PAGES DIRECTORY OF

BLUE PAGES DIRECTORY OF MUSIC MAKERS 2021-22 ● INNERchamber Inc. www.innerchamber.ca ● Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts www.queensu.ca/theisabel ● Jubilate Singers www.jubilatesingers.ca ● Ken Page Memorial Trust www.kenpagememorialtrust.com ● Kindred Spirits Orchestra www.KSOrchestra.ca ● Koerner Hall at the Royal Conservatory of Music www.rcmusic.com/performance ● Mississauga Chamber Singers www.mississaugachambersingers.ca ● Mississauga Symphony Orchestra www.mississaugasymphony.ca ● MOSAIC Canadian Vocal Ensemble mosaic-vocalensemble.ca ● Music at Metropolitan www.metunited.ca ● Music at St. Andrew’s www.standrewstoronto.org ● Music in the Afternoon (Women’s Musical Club of Toronto) www.wmct.on.ca ● Music Gallery www.musicgallery.org ● Music Toronto www.music-toronto.com ● New Music Concerts www.newmusicconcerts.com ● Nine Sparrows Arts Foundation www.9sparrowsarts.org ● Nocturnes in the City www.nocturnesinthecity.com ● Off Centre Music Salon www.offcentremusic.com ● Opera Atelier www.operaatelier.com ● Orchestra Toronto www.orchestratoronto.ca ● ORGANIX Concerts www.organixconcerts.ca ● Pax Christi Chorale www.paxchristichorale.org ● Peterborough Singers www.peterboroughsingers.com ● Royal Canadian College of Organists, Toronto Centre www.rcco.ca/Toronto ● Sine Nomine Ensemble for Medieval Music www.pims.ca/article/sine-nomine/ ● SoundCrowd www.soundcrowd.ca ● Soundstreams www.soundstreams.ca ● St. Michael’s Choir School www.smcs.on.ca ● Tafelmusik www.tafelmusik.org ● Tapestry Opera www.tapestryopera.com ● That Choir www.thatchoir.com ● Toronto Chamber Choir www.torontochamberchoir.ca ● Toronto Choral Society www.torontochoralsociety.org ● Toronto Classical Singers www.torontoclassicalsingers.ca ● Toronto Consort torontoconsort.org ● Toronto Mendelssohn Choir www.tmchoir.org ● Toronto Mozart Players www.mozartproject.ca ● Toronto Operetta Theatre www.torontooperetta.com ● Toronto Symphony Orchestra www.TSO.CA ● Trio Arkel www.trioarkel.com ● University of Toronto Faculty of Music music.utoronto.ca ● Upper Canada Choristers www.uppercanadachoristers.org ● Vesnivka Choir www.vesnivka.com ● VOCA Chorus of Toronto www.vocachorus.ca ● Voicebox: Opera in Concert www.operainconcert.com ● Westben Centre for Connection and Creativity Through Music www.westben.ca ● Wychwood Clarinet Choir www.wychwoodclarinetchoir.ca ● Yorkminster Park Baptist Church www.yorkminsterpark.com Arts Services ● Agence Station Bleue www.stationbleue.com/en ● Eric Alper Public Relations www.thatericalper.com ● International Resource Centre for Performing Artists www.ircpa.net ● Linda Litwack Publicity www.facebook.com/Linda-Litwack- Publicity-1174901622575289 ● Luisa Trisi / Big Picture Communications www.luisatrisi.com SUMMER MUSIC EDUCATION 2022 ● CAMMAC Music Centre www.cammac.ca/ en/2022-summer-programs/ ● Camp Musical Tutti www.camptutti.com ● COC Summer Opera Camps & COC Summer Opera Intensive www.coc.ca/summerprograms ● Interprovincial Music Camp www.campimc.ca ● Kodály Certification Program - Levels I, II and III (Western U) music.uwo.ca/outreach/music-education/kodaly-certification-program.html ● Lake Field Music www.lakefieldmusic.ca ● Music at Port Milford www.musicatportmilford.org ● No Strings Theatre www.nostringstheatre.com ● Oboe Intensive at Western University music.uwo.ca/outreach/oboe-intensive.html ● Stratford Summer Music Jazz Academy www.stratfordsummermusic.ca ● Stratford Summer Music Vocal Academy www.stratfordsummermusic.ca ● Summer Music www.summermusic.com ● Ukrainian Art Song Summer Institute 2022 www.ukrainianartsong.ca ● Vancouver Symphony Orchestral Institute www.vancouversymphony.ca/ the-vso-institute/the-vso-institute Our next issue will feature an update on Canary Pages and Green Pages submissions. For information on how to join any of our directories, please contact karen@thewholenote.com 36 | April 15 - May 27, 2022 thewholenote.com

Classified Advertising | classad@thewholenote.com WholeNote CLASSIFIEDS can help you promote workshops or classes; find an orchestrator, arranger, music director or accompanist; sell your banjo. Maybe you’d like to offer online music lessons, or provide technical expertise for recording and streaming? Classifieds start at only /issue. INQUIRE BY Tuesday May 7 for the May 20 edition to classad@thewholenote.com Special Offer! FREE EMPLOYMENT CLASSIFIEDS: paid employment opportunities for musicians and other arts workers can be advertised FREE OF CHARGE. WholeNote’s online classifieds can be published at any time, and linked to your website. SEND YOUR AD (60-word limit) by email only to classad@thewholenote.com AUDITIONS & EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES AUDITIONING ADVANCED AMATEUR VOCALISTS for Mostly Madrigals: 1-on-apart a cappella ensembles. 1.5-hr workshops every 2-weeks. Near Woodbine subway. Coaching fee: /workshop or PWYC. Contact Sheila. Call/text 416-574-5250 DRUMMER NEEDED for established non-professional jazz band. Must read music. Rehearsals are in east end of Toronto on Thursday evenings. Contact Robert Glazier 647-992-8531. EXPERIENCED FEMALE VOCALIST NEEDED FOR JAZZ QUARTET (SSAA): must be able to read music, have good pitch and ability to blend well. Rehearsals near Broadview- Danforth. Please contact donnagreen045@ gmail.com to inquire. Repertoire includes many jazz standards. ECKHARDT-GRAMATTÉ NATIONAL MUSIC COMPETITION 45 th EDITION FEMALE TENOR SAX PLAYER NEEDED FOR LADIES SAXOPHONE QUARTET: Intermediate level. Rehearsals Tuesday 10:30am Danforth & Donland’s. Paid gigs. Swing & classics. dianaroy@hotmail.com BUY & SELL ARE YOU LOOKING TO SELL YOUR VINYL OR CD COLLECTION? Contact THE RECORD GUYS for professional and courteous service. We are music specialists with thirty years’ experience, and offer the best prices for collections of distinction: classical, jazz, etc. We come to you, anywhere in GTA and beyond. All COVID safety measures taken. www.therecordguys.com tuneup@ sympatico.ca 416-300-3068 CLASSICAL RECORD AND CD COLLECTIONS WANTED. Minimum 350 units. Call, text or email Aaron 416-471-8169 or A@A31.CA INSTRUMENTS FOR SALE: B flat Buffet clarinet (0); Selmer “A” clarinet, with FINAL ANNOUNCEMENT & APPLICANT CALL PIANO APRIL 22-24 2022 double case (0); Yamaha baritone horn, lightly used (0) - all in good condition. One owner, Toronto area. 416-489-6605 FRENCH HORN: Selmer/Reynolds double horn - very good instrument in excellent condition (00) mjbuell@gmail.com INSTRUCTION BE A MORE CONFIDENT CHORISTER! Treat yourself to private sight-singing lessons, (using the solfège movable DOH system). ZOOM or in-person. East end of Toronto. Call or text Sheila at 416-574-5250. SERVICES ACCOUNTING AND INCOME TAX SERVICE for small business and individuals, to save you time and money, customized to meet your needs. Norm Pulker, B. Math. CMA. 905-251- 0309 or 905-830-2985. DOG BOARDING (near Woodbine subway). Heading away for a while and can’t bring your favourite canine companion? I take just one dog at a time and give it a very special vacation. Your dog will pull you to my door on repeat visits! Call or text Sheila at 416-574- 5250 or lilackayak@gmail.com. PRECIOUS MEMORIES & PERFORMANCES transferred to CD, DVD. records | tapes VHS | Hi-8 | mini DV slides | photos | clippings RESTORED & PRESERVED ArtsMediaProjects 416-910-1091 HOUSEKEEPING SERVICES: eco-friendly cleaning, laundry, light gardening, pet care, in North York and Toronto. Visit riseholmehousekeeping.square.site or call Jane at 647 236-8499. JILL-OF-ALL-TRADES: Personal assistant, office temp., organizing, decluttering, budgeting, pet-care, errands, laundry, cooking. Call Andrea 416-653-5462 andrea50@pathcom.com RESTORE PRECIOUS MEMORIES lost on old records, tapes, photos etc.? Recitals, gigs, auditions, air checks, family stuff. on 78’s, cassettes, reels, 35mm slides etc?. ArtsMediaProjects will lovingly restore them to CD’s or DVD’s. Call George @ 416-910-1091 SONATICO - APP FOR TEACHING MUSIC ONLINE: Enjoyable experience for teachers and students. It is completely FREE to use. Some of the Sonatico’s features include: two-clicks registration, superior audio and video quality, unique built-in features designed specifically for music lessons: whiteboard/keyboard/metronome and other. Loved by many users from Canada, U.S., Australia and Europe, including RCM teachers. Register Today: https://sonatico. com/ NEED HELP WITH YOUR TAXES? Specializing in personal and business tax returns including prior years and adjustments HORIZON TAX SERVICES INC. • free consultation • accurate work For CRA stress relief call: 1-866-268-1319 hts@horizontax.ca www.horizontax.ca For the SUSTAIN E-Gré 2022 Silent Auction visit https://app.galabid.com/egresilentauction/items# to bid Risa Tonita (Vancouver, BC) Gabrielle Gagnon-Picard (Montréal, QC) Andrew Zhou (Port Coquitlam, BC) OUR FINALISTS Edward Enman (Montréal, QC) Paul Williamson (Mission, BC) David Potvin (Montréal, QC) Applicant call for Canadian Vocalists: E-Gré 2023 VOICE Visit www.egre.com or email Eckhardt@brandonu.ca for additional information If you can read this, thank a music teacher. (Skip the hug.) MosePianoForAll.com DO YOU DRIVE? Do you love The WholeNote? Share the love and earn a little money! Join our circulation team, and deliver 8 times a year. Currently seeking circulation associates in the Hamilton/ Halton area and Bloor St West (M6 postal area). Interested? Contact: circulation@thewholenote.com BUSINESS CLASSIFIEDS Economical and visible! Promote your services & products to our musically engaged readers, in print and on-line. BOOKING DEADLINE: MAY 3 classad@thewholenote.com thewholenote.com April 15 - May 27, 2022 | 37

Volumes 21-25 (2015-2020)

Volumes 16-20 (2010-2015)

Volumes 11-15 (2004-2010)

Volumes 6 - 10 (2000 - 2006)

Volumes 1-5 (1994-2000)