Views
3 months ago

Volume 27 Issue 7 | May 20 - July 12, 2022

  • Text
  • Thewholenotecom
  • Composer
  • Album
  • Choir
  • Quartet
  • Arts
  • Vocal
  • Jazz
  • Symphony
  • Musical
  • Toronto
Schafer at Soundstreams; "Dixon Road" at High Park, Skydancers at Harbourfront; Music and art at the Wychwood Barns; PODIUM in town; festival season at hand; Listening Room at your fingertips; and listings galore.

In the Clubs (Mostly

In the Clubs (Mostly Jazz) WHO’S WHO? ONLINE DIRECTORIES INDEX With over 75 years around Yonge and Bloor, the Pilot is a multi-level bar that hosts live jazz on Saturday afternoons. Poetry Jazz Café 224 Augusta Ave. 416-599-5299 poetryjazzcafe.com A sexy, clubby space, Poetry hosts live jazz, hip-hop, and DJs nightly in its home on Augusta Ave in Kensington Market. Reposado Bar & Lounge 136 Ossington Ave. 416-532-6474 reposadobar.com A chic, low-light bar with top-shelf tequila, Mexican tapas, and live music. Reservoir Lounge, The 52 Wellington St. E. 416-955-0887 reservoirlounge.com Toronto’s self-professed original swingjazz bar and restaurant, located in a historic speakeasy near St. Lawrence Market, with live music four nights a week. Rex Hotel Jazz & Blues Bar, The 194 Queen St. W. 416-598-2475 therex.ca With over 60 shows per month of Canadian and international groups, The Rex is Toronto’s longest-running jazz club, with full bar and kitchen menu. Sauce on Danforth 1376 Danforth Ave. 647-748-1376 sauceondanforth.com With Victorian lighting, cocktails, and an extensive tap and bottle list, Sauce on Danforth has live music Tuesday through Saturday (and sometimes Sunday). The Senator Winebar 249 Victoria St 416 364-7517 thesenator.com An intimate, upscale French-inspired bistro with live music serving hearty, delicious comfort food alongside a curated selection of wine and cocktails. Smokeshow BBQ and Brew 744 Mt. Pleasant Rd 416-901-7469 Smokeshowbbqandbrew.com A laid-back venue with an emphasis on barbecue and beer, Smokeshow hosts cover artists and original music Thursday through Sunday, with Bachata lessons on Tuesdays and Karaoke on Wednesdays. Tranzac 292 Brunswick Ave. 416-923-8137 tranzac.org A community arts venue dedicated to supporting, presenting, and promoting creative and cultural activity in Toronto, with live shows in multiple rooms every day of the week. As mentioned in previous issues, The WholeNote has a wealth of information online that is not included in our print issues. Our Who's Who section at thewholenote.com is where you'll find detailed profiles of various music presenters, choirs, summer education opportunities and summer festivals. In addition to our Blue Pages (music presenters) and Summer Music Education indexes, here we welcome participants in our Canary Pages choral directory, as well as those who've joined our Green Pages summer festivals directory, at time of publication. These directories, with full profiles, are updated online as new submissions are received, so check back often at thewholenote.com under our Who's Who tab, to look for a choir to join, summer music camps, programs and festivals, and who's becoming active again on the live music scene. For information on how to join any of our directories, please contact karen@thewholenote.com thewholenote.com/whoswho ● Achill Choral Society www.achill.ca ● Amadeus Choir of Greater Toronto www.amadeuschoir.com ● Bel Canto Singers www.belcantosingers.ca ● Choralairs Choir of North York www.choralairschoir.com ● City Choir www.citychoir.ca ● Cummer Avenue United Church Choir www.cummeravenueuc.ca ● Echo Women’s Choir www.echochoir.ca ● Ensemble vocal Les voix du coeur www.lesvoixducoeur.com ● Etobicoke Centennial Choir www.etobcokecentennialchoir.ca ● Georgetown Choral Society www.georgetownchoral.ca ● Harbourfront Chorus www.facebook.com/ harbourfrontchorus ● Healey Willan Singers www.healeywillansingers.com ● Incontra Vocal Ensemble www.incontravocalensemble.com ● Jubilate Singers www.jubilatesingers.ca ● Leaside United Church Choirs www.leasideunited.org CANARY PAGES 2022 ● Mississauga Chamber Singers www.mcsingers.ca ● Oasis Vocal Jazz www.oasisvocaljazz.com ● Pax Christi Chorale www.paxchristichorale.org ● Serenata Singers www.serenatasingers.ca ● Toronto Chamber Choir www.torontochamberchoir.ca ● Toronto Children’s Chorus www.torontochildrenschorus.com ● Toronto Mendelssohn Choir www.tmchoir.org ● Toronto Welsh Male Voice Choir www.welshchoir.ca ● Upper Canada Choristers www.uppercanadachoristers.org ● VIVA Singers Toronto www.vivasingerstoronto.com/ ● Voices Chamber Choir www.voiceschoir.com ● West Toronto Community Choir www.facebook.com/groups/ westtorontocommunitychoir ● Windsor Classic Chorale www.windsorclassicchorale.org ● Yorkminstrels Show Choir www.theyorkminstrelsshowchoir. weebly.com SUMMER FESTIVALS 2022 ● Brantford Summer Music www.sandersoncentre.ca ● Collingwood Music Festival www.collingwoodfestival.com/ ● Elora Festival www.elorafestival.ca ● Festival of the Sound www.festivalofthesound.ca ● Highlands Opera Studio www.highlandsoperastudio.com ● Markham Village Music Festival www.markhamfestival.com ● Stratford Summer Music www.stratfordsummermusic.ca ● Sun Life UpTown Waterloo Jazz Festival www.waterloojazzfest.com ● SweetWater Music Festival www.sweetwatermusicfestival.ca/ ● Under the Spire Music Festival www.underthespire.ca ● Westben Centre for Connection & Creativity Through Music www.westben.ca 40 | May 20 - July 12, 2022 thewholenote.com

SUMMER MUSIC EDUCATION 2022 ● CAMMAC Music Centre www.cammac.ca/ en/2022-summer-programs/ ● Camp Musical Tutti www.camptutti.com ● COC Summer Opera Camps & COC Summer Opera Intensive www.coc.ca/summerprograms ● Interprovincial Music Camp www.campimc.ca ● Kodály Certification Program - Levels I, II and III (Western U) music.uwo.ca/outreach/music-education/kodaly-certification-program.html ● Lake Field Music www.lakefieldmusic.ca ● Music at Port Milford www.musicatportmilford.org ● No Strings Theatre www.nostringstheatre.com ● Oboe Intensive at Western University music.uwo.ca/outreach/oboe-intensive.html ● Stratford Summer Music Jazz Academy www.stratfordsummermusic.ca ● Stratford Summer Music Vocal Academy www.stratfordsummermusic.ca ● Summer Music www.summermusic.com ● Ukrainian Art Song Summer Institute 2022 www.ukrainianartsong.ca ● Vancouver Symphony Orchestral Institute www.vancouversymphony.ca/ the-vso-institute/the-vso-institute BLUE PAGES DIRECTORY 2021-22 ● Aga Khan Museum www.agakhanmuseum.org ● Amadeus Choir of Greater Toronto www.amadeuschoir.com ● Amici Chamber Ensemble www.amiciensemble.com ● Art of Time Ensemble www.artoftimeensemble.com ● Attila Glatz Concert Productions (Salute to Vienna) www.salutetovienna.com ● Azrieli Foundation www.azrielifoundation.org/amp ● Barrie Concert Association www.barrieconcerts.org ● Barrie Concert Band www.barrieconcertband.org ● Canadian Music Centre www.cmccanada.org ● Canadian Opera Company www.coc.ca ● Cathedral Bluffs Symphony Orchestra www.cathedralbluffs.com ● Chorus Niagara www.chorusniagara.org ● Church of St. Mary Magdalene www.stmarymagdalene.ca ● COSA Canada (Centre for Opera Studies & Appreciation) www.cosacanada.org ● Counterpoint Community Orchestra www.ccorchestra.org ● DaCapo Chamber Choir www.dacapochamberchoir.ca ● Don Wright Faculty of Music, Western U music.uwo.ca ● Edison Singers www.theedisonsingers.com ● Elmer Iseler Singers www.elmeriselersingers.com ● Ensemble Vivant www.ensemblevivant.com ● Estonian Studies Centre www.vemu.ca ● Etobicoke Centennial Choir www.etobcokecentennialchoir.ca ● Etobicoke Community Concert Band www.eccb.ca ● Etobicoke Philharmonic Orchestra www.eporchestra.ca ● Evergreen Club Contemporary Gamelan www.evergreenclubgamelan.com ● Exultate Chamber Singers www.exultate.net ● Glionna Mansell Corporation www.glionnamansell.com ● Hannaford Street Silver Band www.hssb.ca ● INNERchamber Inc. www.innerchamber.ca ● Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts www.queensu.ca/theisabel ● Jubilate Singers www.jubilatesingers.ca ● Ken Page Memorial Trust www.kenpagememorialtrust.com ● Kindred Spirits Orchestra www.KSOrchestra.ca ● Koerner Hall at the Royal Conservatory of Music www.rcmusic.com/performance ● Mississauga Chamber Singers www.mississaugachambersingers.ca ● Mississauga Symphony Orchestra www.mississaugasymphony.ca ● MOSAIC Canadian Vocal Ensemble mosaic-vocalensemble.ca ● Music at Metropolitan www.metunited.ca ● Music at St. Andrew’s www.standrewstoronto.org ● Music in the Afternoon (Women’s Musical Club of Toronto) www.wmct.on.ca ● Music Gallery www.musicgallery.org ● Music Toronto www.music-toronto.com ● New Music Concerts www.newmusicconcerts.com ● Nine Sparrows Arts Foundation www.9sparrowsarts.org ● Nocturnes in the City www.nocturnesinthecity.com ● Off Centre Music Salon www.offcentremusic.com ● Opera Atelier www.operaatelier.com ● Orchestra Toronto www.orchestratoronto.ca ● ORGANIX Concerts www.organixconcerts.ca ● Pax Christi Chorale www.paxchristichorale.org ● Peterborough Singers www.peterboroughsingers.com ● Royal Canadian College of Organists, Toronto Centre www.rcco.ca/Toronto ● Sine Nomine Ensemble for Medieval Music www.pims.ca/article/sine-nomine/ ● SoundCrowd www.soundcrowd.ca ● Soundstreams www.soundstreams.ca ● St. Michael’s Choir School www.smcs.on.ca ● Tafelmusik www.tafelmusik.org ● Tapestry Opera www.tapestryopera.com ● That Choir www.thatchoir.com ● Toronto Chamber Choir www.torontochamberchoir.ca ● Toronto Choral Society www.torontochoralsociety.org ● Toronto Classical Singers www.torontoclassicalsingers.ca ● Toronto Consort torontoconsort.org ● Toronto Mendelssohn Choir www.tmchoir.org ● Toronto Mozart Players www.mozartproject.ca ● Toronto Operetta Theatre www.torontooperetta.com ● Toronto Symphony Orchestra www.TSO.CA ● Trio Arkel www.trioarkel.com ● Ukrainian Art Song Project www.ukrainianartsong.ca ● University of Toronto Faculty of Music music.utoronto.ca ● Upper Canada Choristers www.uppercanadachoristers.org ● Vesnivka Choir www.vesnivka.com ● VOCA Chorus of Toronto www.vocachorus.ca ● Voicebox: Opera in Concert www.operainconcert.com ● Westben Centre for Connection and Creativity Through Music www.westben.ca ● Wychwood Clarinet Choir www.wychwoodclarinetchoir.ca ● Yorkminster Park Baptist Church www.yorkminsterpark.com Arts Services ● Agence Station Bleue www.stationbleue.com/en ● Eric Alper Public Relations www.thatericalper.com ● International Resource Centre for Performing Artists www.ircpa.net ● Linda Litwack Publicity www.facebook.com/Linda-Litwack- Publicity-1174901622575289 ● Luisa Trisi / Big Picture Communications www.luisatrisi.com thewholenote.com May 20 - July 12, 2022 | 41

Volumes 21-25 (2015-2020)

Volumes 16-20 (2010-2015)

Volumes 11-15 (2004-2010)

Volumes 6 - 10 (2000 - 2006)

Volumes 1-5 (1994-2000)