5 years ago

Volume 17 Issue 1 - September 2011

  • Text
  • September
  • Jazz
  • Toronto
  • October
  • Concerts
  • Orchestra
  • Symphony
  • Gould
  • Arts
  • Musical


Mariinsky OrchestraValery Gergiev, conductorAlexander Toradze, pianoFri Oct 21, 8pm Roy Thomson HallStravinsky: Firebird Suite (1919 version)Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3Shostakovich: Symphony No. 1The legendary Mariinsky Orchestra ofSt. Petersburg, established over 200 yearsago, is “a perfectly balanced, impeccablyblended virtuoso instrument.”Artistic powerhouse Valery Gergiev andhis illustrious ensemble, who have touredthe world to sold-out houses and standingovations, return to Toronto for one nightonly to perform a spectacular programof Russian masterworks.Sponsored byCreative: EndeavourTICKETS ONLINEroythomson.comBY PHONE416-872-4255

Volume 17 No 1 | September 1 – October 7, 2011FOR OPENERS6. Fable Manners | DAVID PERLMANFEATURES8. Robert Carsen: The Way I Direct | PAMELA MARGLESBEAT BY BEAT14. Classical & Beyond | SHARNA SEARLE18. In With the New | DAVID PERLMAN21. Early Music | SIMONE DESILETS23. Choral Scene | BENJAMIN STEIN26. World View | ANDREW TIMAR28. On Opera | CHRISTOPHER HOILE30. Jazz Notes | JIM GALLOWAY32. Bandstand | JACK MACQUARRIE47. Jazz in the Clubs | ORI DAGANLISTINGS34. A | Concerts in the GTA43. B | Beyond the GTA46. C | In the Clubs (Mostly Jazz)49. D | The ETCeterasMUSICAL LIFE12. We Are All Music’s Children | MJ BUELL58. Bookshelf | PAMELA MARGLESDISCOVERIES: RECORDINGS REVIEWED59. Editor’s Corner | DAVID OLDS60. Vocal60. Classical & Beyond62. Strings Attached | TERRY ROBBINS62. Modern & Contemporary64. Jazz & Improvised Music65. It’s our Jazz | GEOFF CHAPMAN66. Something in the Air: Guelph Jazz Festival 2011 | KEN WAXMAN68. Old Wine, New Bottles | BRUCE SURTEESMORE6. Contact Information & Deadlines33. Index of Advertisers54. Classified AdsIn This IssueACD2 2168In memory ofBruce Haynes(1942-2011)In memory of the Canadian oboistBruce Hayneswho recently passed away, ATMA isre-issuing François Couperin’sConcerts royaux,which was first released in 1999.Haynes is accompanied bySusie Napper on viola da gamba andArthur Haas on harpsichord.Bruce Haynes was one of the pioneersof the 20th-century renaissance ofBaroque wind instruments.For the past 50 years he was anindefatigable explorer of historicalmusical performance as a musician,instrument maker,professor, and researcher.DOWNLOAD DIRECTLY ATATMACLASSIQUE.COMSelect ATMA titles now on saleGLENN BUHRpage 18WARREN VACHÉpage 30OFRA HARNOYpage 12September 1–October 7, 2011 5

Volumes 21-25 (2015-2020)

Volumes 16-20 (2010-2015)

Volumes 11-15 (2004-2010)

Volumes 6 - 10 (2000 - 2006)

Volumes 1-5 (1994-2000)