8 years ago

Volume 18 Issue 2 - October 2012

  • Text
  • Toronto
  • October
  • Choir
  • Arts
  • Jazz
  • Concerts
  • November
  • Theatre
  • Musical
  • Orchestra


ANNOUNCEMENTRenowned organist andcomposer David Briggsappointed Artist in Residence atSt. James Cathedral, TorontoThe Dean and the Corporation of St. James Cathedralare pleased to announce the appointment ofDavid Briggs MA (Cantab) FRCO ARCM as Artistin Residence, effective September 1, 2012.David Briggs is an internationally renownedorganist whose performances are acclaimed fortheir musicality, virtuosity, and ability to engagea wide and diverse array of audiences. With anextensive repertoire spanning five centuries, he isalso known for his brilliant organ transcriptionsof symphonic music by composers such as Mahler,Schubert, Tchaikovsky, Elgar, Bruckner, Ravel,and Bach. David Briggs also frequently performsimprovisations to silent films such as Phantom ofthe Opera, Hunchback of Notre-Dame, Nosferatu,Jeanne d’Arc, and Metropolis.At the age of 17, David Briggs obtained his FRCO(Fellow of the Royal College of Organists) diploma,winning all the prizes and the Silver Medal of theWorshipful Company of Musicians. From 1981–84he was the Organ Scholar at King’s College,Cambridge University, during which time hestudied organ with Jean Langlais in Paris. The firstBritish winner of the Tournemire Prize at the St.Albans International Improvisation Competition,he also won the first prize in the InternationalImprovisation Competition at Paisley. SubsequentlyDavid Briggs held positions at Hereford, Truro andGloucester Cathedrals in the UK.Combining more than 60 performances a yearspanning several continents with teaching atCambridge (UK), serving on international organcompetition juries, and giving master classes atcolleges and conservatories across the U.S. andEurope, David Briggs is deeply committed tomaking organ music vibrant for future generations.A prolific composer, David Briggs works rangefrom full-scale oratorios to works for soloinstruments. His Messe pour Notre Dame,recorded on the Hyperion label with TrinityCollege Choir (Cambridge) under the directionof Stephen Layton, was recognized as a CD of theyear in 2010 in both BBC Music Magazine andGramophone.At St. James, David’s responsibilities will includegiving celebrity recitals, playing regularly atservices, composing liturgical music for theCathedral, and working on the establishment ofa vision for the music program and the campaignfor the design and installation of a new organ ororgans and relevant acoustical enhancements.“I am delighted that David Briggs is joiningSt. James Cathedral as Artist in Residence,” notesDouglas Stoute, Dean of Toronto and Rectorof St. James Cathedral. “David is legendary for hisability to inspire and excite people — of all agesand from all walks of life — about music.”The CathedralChurch of St. JamesDiocese of Toronto • Anglican Church of Canada

Celebrate Greatness:Help choose the Tenth Glenn Gould Prize LaureateCall for NominationsThe Glenn Gould Foundation invites thepublic to nominate outstanding women andmen for the Tenth Glenn Gould Prize.An international symbol of creativeexcellence, The Glenn Gould Prize is awardedto an individual for a unique lifetimecontribution that has enriched the humancondition through the arts.The Glenn Gould Prize honours a leadingfigure in the Arts, as related to the themeof music and communication, for a lifetimeof extraordinary creative achievement andinnovation.Recent laureates include poet, singersongwriterand visual artist Leonard Cohen(2011), and founder of El Sistema, Dr. JoséAntonio Abreu (2008).Disciplines include but are not limited to:• Musical creation or performance• Theatre• Writing• Technology• Film• Video• Television• Radio and Recording• Architecture and Design“Pulitzer, Booker,Nobel...Gould?”-The Globe and MailLiving candidates of any nationality areeligible. Laureates receive ,000 CNDand the Glenn Gould Prize Statue.Visit fornomination guidelines, and submit yournomination today. Nominations closeDecember 15, 2012.The Glenn Gould Prize Statue by Ruth AbernethyThe Glenn Gould Prize Laureates198719901993199619992002200520082011R. MurraySchaferLord YehudiMenuhinOscarPetersonToruTakemitsuYo-YoMaPierreBoulezSir AndrePrevinDr. JoséAntonioAbreuLeonardCohen

Volumes 21-25 (2015-2020)

Volumes 16-20 (2010-2015)

Volumes 11-15 (2004-2010)

Volumes 6 - 10 (2000 - 2006)

Volumes 1-5 (1994-2000)