Views
10 months ago

Volume 27 Issue 4 - February 2022

Gould's Wall -- Philip Akin's "breadcrumb trail; orchestras buying into hope; silver linings to the music theatre lockdown blues; Charlotte Siegel's watershed moments; Deep Wireless at 20; and guess who is Back in Focus. All this and more, now online for your reading pleasure.

Reservoir Lounge, The 52

Reservoir Lounge, The 52 Wellington St. E. 416-955-0887 reservoirlounge.com Rex Hotel Jazz & Blues Bar, The 194 Queen St. W. 416-598-2475 therex.ca Sauce on Danforth 1376 Danforth Ave. 647-748-1376 sauceondanforth.com If you can read this, thank a music teacher. (Skip the hug.) MosePianoForAll.com PRECIOUS MEMORIES & PERFORMANCES transferred to CD, DVD. records | tapes VHS | Hi-8 | mini DV slides | photos | clippings RESTORED & PRESERVED ArtsMediaProjects 416-910-1091 In the Clubs (Mostly Jazz) DO YOU DRIVE? Do you love The WholeNote? Share the love and earn a little money! Join our circulation team, and deliver 8 times a year. Currently seeking circulation associates in the Hamilton/Halton area and Kawartha Lakes/Peterborough. Interested? Contact: circulation@thewholenote.com The Senator Winebar 249 Victoria St 416 364-7517 thesenator.com Smokeshow BBQ and Brew 744 Mt. Pleasant Rd 416-901-7469 Smokeshowbbqandbrew.com Tranzac 292 Brunswick Ave. 416-923-8137 tranzac.org BUSINESS CLASSIFIEDS Economical and visible! Promote your services & products to our musically engaged readers, in print and on-line. BOOKING DEADLINE: FEBRUARY 15 classad@thewholenote.com NEED HELP WITH YOUR TAXES? Specializing in personal and business tax returns including prior years and adjustments HORIZON TAX SERVICES INC. • free consultation • accurate work For CRA stress relief call: 1-866-268-1319 hts@horizontax.ca www.horizontax.ca ADVERTISE music-related needs, skills and services Recruit new members for choirs, bands, orchestras. Find a new music director | Find a music teacher | Buy or sell Just for the first 20 words. .20 for each additional word. Discounts for 3x, 5x and 10x insertions. INQUIRE BY FEBRUARY 19 for the MARCH 4 edition. classad@thewholenote.com Classified Advertising | classad@thewholenote.com WholeNote CLASSIFIEDS can help you promote workshops or classes; find an orchestrator, arranger, music director or accompanist; sell your banjo. Maybe you’d like to offer online music lessons, or provide technical expertise for recording and streaming? Classifieds start at only /issue. INQUIRE BY Saturday February 19 for the March 4 edition to classad@thewholenote.com Special Offer! FREE EMPLOYMENT CLASSIFIEDS: paid employment opportunities for musicians and other arts workers can be advertised FREE OF CHARGE. WholeNote’s online classifieds can be published at any time, and linked to your website. SEND YOUR AD (60-word limit) by email only to classad@thewholenote.com AUDITIONS & EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES AUDITIONING ADVANCED AMATEUR VOCALISTS for Mostly Madrigals: 1-on-apart a cappella ensembles. 1.5-hr workshops every 2-weeks. Near Woodbine subway. Coaching fee: /workshop or PWYC. Contact Sheila. Call/text 416-574-5250 AUDITIONS! Two women and two men for a new non-Equity musical comedy revue, TORONTO STRIKES BACK! send bio and pic to harveypatterson@gmail.com. Or call 416-239-5821. DIRECTOR OF MUSIC - LAWRENCE PARK COMMUNITY CHURCH, TORONTO Do you believe that inspiring music is an integral element of worship? Lawrence Park Community Church is seeking an experienced Director of Music who loves choral and organ music, is excited to bring new ideas to a vibrant and active music program and has a vision for bringing sacred music into the 21st century. We are an affirming United Church located in North Toronto. Please see the full job description on our website (www.lawrenceparkchurch. ca) and forward your CV with covering letter to the Chair of the Music Search Committee, (musicdirsearch@lawrenceparkchurch.ca). We look forward to meeting you. EXPERIENCED FEMALE VOCALIST NEEDED FOR JAZZ QUARTET (SSAA): must be able to read music, have good pitch and ability to blend well. Rehearsals near Broadview- Danforth. Please contact donnagree045@ gmail.com to inquire. Repertoire includes many jazz standards. Toronto Symphony Orchestra Resident Conductor Opening Please visit https:// www.tso.ca/orchestra/auditions for detailed information and to apply. BUY & SELL ARE YOU LOOKING TO SELL YOUR VINYL OR CD COLLECTION? Contact THE RECORD GUYS for professional and courteous service. We are music specialists with thirty years’ experience, and offer the best prices for collections of distinction: classical, jazz, etc. We come to you, anywhere in GTA and beyond. All COVID safety measures taken. www.therecordguys.com tuneup@sympatico.ca 416-300-3068 CLASSICAL RECORD AND CD COLLECTIONS WANTED. Minimum 350 units. Call, text or email Aaron 416-471-8169 or A@A31.CA FRENCH HORN: great instrument in excellent condition. Selmer/Reynolds prototype. mjbuell@gmail.com. INSTRUMENTS FOR SALE: B flat Buffet clarinet (0); Selmer “A” clarinet, with double case (0); Yamaha baritone horn, lightly used (0) - all in good condition. One owner, Toronto area. 416-489-6605 WHAT’S IN YOUR CLOSET? Does your old guitar gently weep? Sell that nice old accordion / clarinet / drum kit and find it a new owner! Is dad’s vintage vinyl collection gathering dust? WholeNote classified ads start at just .00. INQUIRE BY February 19 to advertise in the March 4 edition to classad@thewholenote.com INSTRUCTION BE A MORE CONFIDENT CHORISTER! Treat yourself to private sight-singing lessons, (using the solfège movable DOH system). ZOOM or in-person. East end of Toronto. Call or text Sheila at 416-574-5250. CELLO LESSONS with Dr. Dobrochna Zubek. 20 years of international teaching experience from beginner to college level. Contact: zubekdobrochna@hotmail.com More info @ http://www.dobrochnazubek.com SERVICES ACCOUNTING AND INCOME TAX SERVICE for small business and individuals, to save you time and money, customized to meet your needs. Norm Pulker, B. Math. CMA. 905-251- 0309 or 905-830-2985. DOG BOARDING (near Woodbine subway). Heading away for a while and can’t bring your favourite canine companion? I take just one dog at a time and give it a very special vacation. Your dog will pull you to my door on repeat visits! Call or text Sheila at 416-574- 5250 or lilackayak@gmail.com. HOUSEKEEPING SERVICES: eco-friendly cleaning, laundry, light gardening, pet care, in North York and Toronto. Visit riseholmehousekeeping.square.site or call Jane at 647 236-8499. JILL-OF-ALL-TRADES: Personal assistant, office temp., organizing, decluttering, budgeting, pet-care, errands, laundry, cooking. Call Andrea 416-653-5462 andrea50@pathcom.com RESTORE PRECIOUS MEMORIES lost on old records, tapes, photos etc.? Recitals, gigs, auditions, air checks, family stuff. on 78’s, cassettes, reels, 35mm slides etc?. ArtsMediaProjects will lovingly restore them to CD’s or DVD’s. Call George @ 416-910-1091 SONATICO - APP FOR TEACHING MUSIC ONLINE: Enjoyable experience for teachers and students. It is completely FREE to use. Some of the Sonatico’s features include: two-clicks registration, superior audio and video quality, unique built-in features designed specifically for music lessons: whiteboard/keyboard/metronome and other. Loved by many users from Canada, U.S., Australia and Europe, including RCM teachers. Register Today: https://sonatico. com/ 32 | February 2022 thewholenote.com

WHO’S WHO? THE WHOLENOTE ONLINE DIRECTORIES INDEX Under the WHO’S WHO tab at THEWHOLENOTE.COM, you’ll find several directories containing detailed profiles about active participants in several areas of the musical life of our region and beyond. In our Blue Pages you can read about a viareity music makers and presenters; the Canary Pages reveals the riches of choral activity all across southern Ontario. You can also find information about Summer Festivals in our Green Pages, and about seasonal learning opportunities in Summer Music Education. Traditionally we published a single annual print supplement for each of these: The Blue Pages in the fall, Summer Music Education in late winter, The Canary Pages in May, and The Green Pages in early summer. But these days it’s more useful to allow for rolling deadlines for all concerned, so we’ve moved the directories entirely online. This means that directory participants a) can wait till their plans for the season have taken shape, and b) revise them as frequently as necessary, as restrictions governing venues and live performance continue to adjust, hopefully for the better! So what follows here is an up-to-the-moment index (as of January 2022) of current members of the Blue Pages. Profiles are being added or updated on a weekly basis on our website. As for the Green Pages and Summer Music Education, we’ve kept the 2021 profiles online for your awareness for now, but these will be updated for 2022 soon, so check back in a few weeks. We'll be updating the Canary Pages in May. The current index below offers you a handy way to window-shop presenters who's season's are in progress or just starting up. You can access their websites directly - via the web addresses that accompany every name in the index, with a “click” if you explore these pages while reading The WholeNote in our online flipthrough edition, accessible via kiosk.thewholenote.com. So happy browsing! If you have any questions about the directories, either as a reader or prospective directory member, contact me at karen@thewholenote.com Karen Ages, directory and member services BLUE PAGES DIRECTORY OF MUSIC MAKERS 2021-22 ● = NEW! ● Aga Khan Museum www.agakhanmuseum.org ● Amadeus Choir of Greater Toronto www.amadeuschoir.com ● Amici Chamber Ensemble www.amiciensemble.com ● Art of Time Ensemble www.artoftimeensemble.com ● Attila Glatz Concert Productions (Salute to Vienna) www.salutetovienna.com ● Azrieli Foundation www.azrielifoundation.org/amp ● Barrie Concert Association www.barrieconcerts.org ● Barrie Concert Band www.barrieconcertband.org ● Canadian Music Centre www.cmccanada.org ● Canadian Opera Company www.coc.ca ● Cathedral Bluffs Symphony Orchestra www.cathedralbluffs.com ● Chorus Niagara www.chorusniagara.org ● Church of St. Mary Magdalene www.stmarymagdalene.ca ● COSA Canada (Centre for Opera Studies & Appreciation) www.cosacanada.org ● Counterpoint Community Orchestra www.ccorchestra.org ● DaCapo Chamber Choir www.dacapochamberchoir.ca ● Don Wright Faculty of Music, Western U music.uwo.ca ● Edison Singers www.theedisonsingers.com ● Elmer Iseler Singers www.elmeriselersingers.com ● Ensemble Vivant www.ensemblevivant.com ● Estonian Studies Centre www.vemu.ca ● Etobicoke Centennial Choir www.etobcokecentennialchoir.ca ● Etobicoke Community Concert Band www.eccb.ca ● Etobicoke Philharmonic Orchestra www.eporchestra.ca ● Evergreen Club Contemporary Gamelan www.evergreenclubgamelan.com ● Glionna Mansell Corporation www.glionnamansell.com ● Hannaford Street Silver Band www.hssb.ca ● INNERchamber Inc. www.innerchamber.ca ● Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts www.queensu.ca/theisabel ● Jubilate Singers www.jubilatesingers.ca ● Ken Page Memorial Trust www.kenpagememorialtrust.com ● Kindred Spirits Orchestra www.KSOrchestra.ca ● Koerner Hall at the Royal Conservatory of Music www.rcmusic.com/performance ● Mississauga Chamber Singers www.mississaugachambersingers.ca ● Mississauga Symphony Orchestra www.mississaugasymphony.ca ● MOSAIC Canadian Vocal Ensemble mosaic-vocalensemble.ca ● Music at Metropolitan www.metunited.ca ● Music at St. Andrew’s www.standrewstoronto.org ● Music in the Afternoon (Women’s Musical Club of Toronto) www.wmct.on.ca ● Music Gallery www.musicgallery.org ● Music Toronto www.music-toronto.com ● New Music Concerts www.newmusicconcerts.com ● Nine Sparrows Arts Foundation www.9sparrowsarts.org ● Nocturnes in the City www.nocturnesinthecity.com ● Off Centre Music Salon www.offcentremusic.com ● Opera Atelier www.operaatelier.com ● Orchestra Toronto www.orchestratoronto.ca ● ORGANIX Concerts www.organixconcerts.ca ● Pax Christi Chorale www.paxchristichorale.org ● Peterborough Singers www.peterboroughsingers.com ● Royal Canadian College of Organists, Toronto Centre www.rcco.ca/Toronto ● Sine Nomine Ensemble for Medieval Music www.pims.ca/article/sine-nomine/ ● SoundCrowd www.soundcrowd.ca ● Soundstreams www.soundstreams.ca ● St. Michael’s Choir School www.smcs.on.ca ● Tafelmusik www.tafelmusik.org ● Tapestry Opera www.tapestryopera.com ● That Choir www.thatchoir.com ● Toronto Chamber Choir www.torontochamberchoir.ca ● Toronto Choral Society www.torontochoralsociety.org ● Toronto Classical Singers www.torontoclassicalsingers.ca ● Toronto Consort torontoconsort.org ● Toronto Mendelssohn Choir www.tmchoir.org ● Toronto Mozart Players www.mozartproject.ca ● Toronto Operetta Theatre www.torontooperetta.com ● Toronto Symphony Orchestra www.TSO.CA ● Trio Arkel www.trioarkel.com ● University of Toronto Faculty of Music music.utoronto.ca ● Upper Canada Choristers www.uppercanadachoristers.org ● Vesnivka Choir www.vesnivka.com ● VOCA Chorus of Toronto www.vocachorus.ca ● Voicebox: Opera in Concert www.operainconcert.com ● Westben Centre for Connection and Creativity Through Music www.westben.ca ● Wychwood Clarinet Choir www.wychwoodclarinetchoir.ca ● Yorkminster Park Baptist Church www.yorkminsterpark.com Arts Services ● Agence Station Bleue www.stationbleue.com/en ● Eric Alper Public Relations www.thatericalper.com ● International Resource Centre for Performing Artists www.ircpa.net ● Linda Litwack Publicity www.facebook.com/Linda-Litwack- Publicity-1174901622575289 ● Luisa Trisi / Big Picture Communications www.luisatrisi.com thewholenote.com February 2022 | 33

Volumes 21-25 (2015-2020)

Volumes 16-20 (2010-2015)

Volumes 11-15 (2004-2010)

Volumes 6 - 10 (2000 - 2006)

Volumes 1-5 (1994-2000)